A Week…

This has been the slowest week since I’ve made art & writing a priority in my life [again].   Over the weekend I recorded a cover song for “Stay a Little Longer” by Brothers Osborne.  It was one of my favorite songs that played while in Nashville.  I was also able to spend some time playing guitar with a friend.  She showed me another great song to cover, I’m really excited to put that one up as well.

Yet, I didn’t do much outside of that.  Instead of starting to write a new song, I ended up tying one up but I love it.  I battled a horrible headache on Monday, work has been slammed we also have a new manager, there’s also been a depressing flare up of exhaustion causing my attitude to drop, and I am once again behind on my house chores (like that will ever be news).  Even though this week has been a bit of a setback, I am happy to say that I’ve handled it better than prior weeks.

“Normal” would have been eating a load of chocolate and junk food, laying on the couch and binging on Netflix.  This week I’ve managed to tackle small goals, and I am so proud of this.  A lot of people prefer to set long term goals, but for anyone who’s dealt with exhaustion, anxiety, or depression; “long-term” is daunting.  First I envision my tasks, imagine myself completing them, and then I write them down.  The key is knowing how you want to feel at the end of the day, all too often, we’re only obsessed with where we are at the end of life.  Sure, not everything is always done at the end of the day, but it doesn’t matter as long as you make progress.  Focusing on what you do not owe is smarter than focusing on what you are indebted too.

Building these daily goals is actually helping me see what I want long term.  I hope to have a new video up by this weekend.  Within 6 months, I want to be singing pubicly [again]. Within the year, I want to have a few of these songs recorded and available for download.

There’s more, but this is all I’m willing to offer right now, you’ll have to follow and wait for the rest.

Best & Love One Another

2 thoughts on “A Week…”

  1. In my humble opinion…I feel you are being too hard on yourself. It’s wonderful to hear your recommitment to your dream, but please don’t feel that you have ever disappointed anyone. No matter what you choose to do with your life & who you choose to become, we will always be proud of you and love you! Next: I’d like to request some cheerful tunes & smiles! oxoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

